Rejoignez-nous

July 06

L'apéro avec Annamie

Annamie Paul Profile

Annamie Paul

Votre candidate à la chefferie du Parti Vert de Canada

  • Démocratie
  • Diversité
  • Audacité

Je suis très fière de me porter candidate à la direction du Parti vert du Canada.

Pourquoi je me présente pour le leadership

C’est grâce à l'exemple de ma mère et de ma grand-mère, que j'ai appris très jeune que le changement positif ne se produit que lorsque les gens s'engagent à le réaliser. Je me présente pour diriger le Parti vert du Canada pour les mêmes raisons que je suis devenue membre. Je veux offrir aux Canadiennes et aux Canadiens un leadership qui donne priorité au bien être des gens et de la collectivité devant le profit, le pouvoir et la partisanerie et qui offre au Canada une véritable chance de réaliser une société juste, durable et démocratique.

À qui pouvons-nous faire confiance pour diriger?

Le Canada est à l'aube d'une transformation économique et sociale considérable. C'est une période incertaine, mais aussi très prometteuse. À qui les Canadien·ne·s pourront-ils faire confiance pour nous guider vers cet avenir? Les anciens partis, qui concentrent leurs décisions entre les mains d'une élite, ou un jeune parti qui comprend que nous devons tous et toutes mettre la main à la pâte, et chercher à mettre en œuvre les meilleures idées et solutions.

Le Parti de la diversité

La diversité est la plus grande force du Canada et il est temps de la voir reflétée aux plus hauts niveaux de leadership. Depuis des années, je me suis engagée pour atteindre cet objectif, et ma campagne visera à attirer des personnes et des voix diverses dans la politique et au parti: plus de jeunes, plus de personnes issues de groupes en quête d'équité et plus des gens de chaque région du pays. En ajoutant ces nouvelles voix à notre remarquable base actuelle, les Canadien·ne·s verront toutes les façons dont nous pouvons rendre la politique vraiment inclusive.

Le Parti de renouvellement démocratique

L’approche du « gagnant prend tout », du « à prendre ou à laisser » est révolue. Je suis consternée qu’autant de chefs choisissent de concentrer tout le pouvoir entre les mains de leur petit cercle, laissant le reste d'entre nous à l'extérieur. Je n'ai aucune intention de reproduire ce modèle anti-démocratique, et mon approche en tant que chef sera tout à fait verte: ouverte, démocratique et collaborative.

Mon travail à titre de chef consistera à amplifier les voix de nos membres et à soutenir une politique issue de la base. Ce style de leadership commence avec ma campagne. Au lieu de présenter aux membres un manifeste entièrement formulé d’avance, je prévois de sillonner le pays, d'écouter les membres, de présenter de nouveaux outils d'engagement et de partager mes propres idées: de membre à membre. Il s'agit de démontrer aux Canadien·ne·s qu'il existe une meilleure option et que nous obtenons de meilleurs résultats lorsque la politique nous appartient tous et toutes.

Le Parti de l’audace

En tant que leader, je veillerai à ce que le Parti vert conserve sa fière tradition d'audace. Nous avons toujours été un parti avant-gardiste. Nous avons été les premiers à exiger l'interdiction de l'amiante; un régime d'assurance-médicaments universel; un revenu minimum garanti; la légalisation du cannabis; la taxe carbone; le mariage pour les couples de même sexe; et beaucoup plus. Les politiques que nous avons élaborées et revendiquées sont passées des marges de la politique à l'avant-plan. Autant de changements qui ont représenté une amélioration de la vie des Canadien·ne·s.

Bien qu'il ne soit ni facile ni sans risque d'être à l'avant-garde des politiques publiques, le Parti vert se distingue par ce principe directeur: l'innovation fondée sur des preuves. En tant que parti qui met les gens au cœur de ses priorités, le Parti vert du Canada ne doit jamais cesser d'innover et de proposer de nouvelles idées au profit des Canadien·ne·s. Nous continuerons à ouvrir la voie que les autres partis politiques finiront par suivre.

C’est parti!

Alors que notre campagne démarre, j'ai tellement hâte de partir à la rencontre des Canadien·ne·s partout au pays. Si comme moi, vous tenez un Parti vert qui soit le diverse, le plus démocratique et le plus audacieux du Canada, joignez-vous à moi et nous poursuivrons l’effort de le bâtir ensemble.

Branchez-vous sur la campagne!

Rencontrer Annamie

Voir plus

S'engager de voter pour Annamie

Si comme moi, vous tenez à un Parti vert qui soit le diverse, le plus démocratique et le plus audacieux au Canada, joignez-vous à moi.

Annamie and Elizabeth May at Toronto Pride 2019

Merci, Elizabeth!

Lorsque j'envisageais de me joindre au Parti vert du Canada, j'ai fait mes recherches. Je savais que j'étais attiré par la politique du parti, mais je voulais aussi être inspiré par son chef. J'ai découvert que le PVC était dirigé par l'une des femmes les plus intrépides, infatigables et engageantes que j'ai eu la chance de rencontrer; si généreuse et honorable, il était clair que les Canadiennes et Canadiens lui faisaient plus confiance que tout autre chef fédéral. J’ai également été impressionnée par la profondeur de ses connaissances en politique publique, qui sont pratiquement sans parallèles dans la politique canadienne. Le leadership d'Elizabeth a été si important pour la croissance de notre parti; non seulement en nombre, mais en respect et en stature. Grâce à elle, les Canadiennes et Canadiens peuvent avoir plus d'espoir quant à nos chances de créer une société juste et durable. Merci, Elizabeth!

$('.volunteer-image-wall').slick();

Join Us at our next event

June 05

The New Normal Tour: Elizabeth May and Annamie Paul

Annamie Paul Profile

Annamie Paul

Your Candidate for Leader of the Green Party of Canada

  • Democracy
  • Diversity
  • Daring

I am very proud to be running for the leadership of the Green Party of Canada

Why am I running?

Thanks to the example of my mother and grandmother, I learned from an early age that positive change only happens when people commit to making it happen. I am running to lead the Green Party of Canada for the same reasons that I became a member: to offer Canadians leadership that puts people ahead of profit, power and party and offers Canada a real shot at achieving a just, sustainable and democratic society.

Who can we trust to lead us?

Canada is at the dawn of major economic and social transformation. It is an uncertain time, but also one that holds so much promise. Who can Canadians trust to lead us towards this future? The old parties, which concentrate their decision-making in the hands of a small elite; or a young party that understands we are all in it together and actively seeks out the very best ideas and solutions, wherever they may come from?

The Party of Diversity

Diversity is Canada’s greatest strength and it’s time to reflect that at our highest levels of leadership. I have spent years working to help us reach that goal, and my campaign will be about attracting diverse faces and voices into politics and into the party: more youth, more equity-seeking peoples, and more regions. In adding these new voices to our remarkable existing membership, Canadians will see all the ways that we can make Canadian politics truly inclusive.

The Party of Democratic Renewal

The old style of “winner takes all”, “take it or leave it” political leadership is not working for Canadians. I am dismayed that so many leaders choose to concentrate all the political power in the hands of their small inner circle, leaving everyone else on the outside. I have no intention of replicating this anti-democratic model, and my leadership style will reflect the Green Party’s: open, democratic and collaborative.

As leader, my job will be to amplify the voices of our members and to support policy that comes from the grassroots. This leadership-style begins with my campaign. Instead of presenting members with a fully-baked manifesto, I plan to crisscross the country, listening to the membership, showcasing new member engagement tools and sharing my own ideas: member-to-member. It’s about demonstrating to Canadians that there is a better way, and that we get better results when politics belongs to all of us.

The Party of Daring

As leader, I will ensure that the Green Party maintains its proud tradition of being daring. We have always operated ahead of the curve. We were the first to call for a ban on asbestos; to call for universal pharmacare; a Guaranteed Liveable Income; cannabis legalization; the carbon tax; equal marriage; and much more. The policies we developed have made it from the margins of politics to the forefront, improving life for Canadians along the way.

While it’s not easy or risk-free to be at the vanguard of public policy, evidence-based innovation is what sets the Green Party apart. As the party that puts people first, the Green Party of Canada must never stop innovating and proposing new ideas to benefit Canadians. We will continue to blaze the trails that the other political parties eventually follow.

Let’s Go!

As our campaign kicks off, I am excited for what is to come and eager to get started. If you are inspired by a vision of the Green Party as the most diverse, democratic and daring political party in Canada, join me and we’ll continue to build it together.

Stay connected with the campaign!

Where to find Annamie

  • 05

    June

    The New Normal Tour: Elizabeth May and Annamie Paul

    04:00 PM Pacific Time (US & Canada)
    Zoom

    Join us to help write the next chapter with Annamie Paul and raise funds for her campaign. All members across Canada are welcome!

    "Normal" pre-pandemic wasn't good enough, so we'll need to fight for a new normal that treats all with dignity, achieves greater equality and respects science. Elizabeth and Annamie will discuss a just transition, the climate emergency and more.

    The best way to ensure inclusiveness is to scout diverse talent and actively support it. So, while Elizabeth will not be endorsing any of the leadership candidates, she will be supporting the fundraising efforts of equity-seeking candidates including our campaign.

    Join us for an exciting and interesting event!

  • 07

    June

    Meet Annamie Paul with London & Area EDAs

    07:00 PM Eastern Time (US & Canada)
    Zoom

    Join your fellow London & Area EDAs for a virtual Zoom Meet & Greet to have your questions answered and to hear Annamie's vision for the Party, for Canada, and beyond.

    The London & Area EDAs will be welcoming all official candidates for Zoom meetings as their schedules allow.

  • 08

    June

    Office Hours

    06:00 PM Eastern Time (US & Canada)
    Zoom

    Join us for office hours!

  • 10

    June

    Meet Annamie Paul with PEI Greens

    07:00 PM Atlantic Time (Canada)
    Zoom

    Join your fellow Prince Edward Island for a virtual Zoom Meet & Greet to have your questions answered and to hear Annamie's vision for the Party, for Canada, and beyond.

    The Prince Edward Island Greens will be welcoming all official candidates for Zoom meetings as their schedules allow.

See More

Pledge to vote for Annamie!

If you are inspired by a vision of the Green Party of Canada as the most diverse, democratic and daring political party in Canada, join me and we’ll continue to build it together.

Will you pledge your support now?

Annamie Paul and Elizabeth May at Toronto Pride 2019

Thank you Elizabeth!

When I was considering joining the Green Party of Canada, I did my due diligence. I knew that I was attracted to the party’s policies, but also wanted to be inspired by its leader. I discovered that the GPC was led by one of the most fearless, tireless, and engaging women I had ever met; so generous and honourable, it was clear why Canadians trusted her more than any other federal leader. As a policy wonk, I was also delighted by the depth and breadth of her public policy knowledge, which is virtually unparalleled in Canadian politics. Elizabeth’s leadership has been so important to our party’s growth; not only in numbers, but in respect and stature. Thanks to her, Canadians can be more hopeful about our chances of creating a just and sustainable society where no one is left behind. Thank you, Elizabeth!